ideas and colour separation

Print project is on the way and I’ve had a little investigation as to what to do my poster on/about.

So, first a foremost I am a visual communicator, so I want to advert something to the local people about something that is happening. So I thought what better thing to advertise, than a local gallery. I looked into the exhibitions that are going on in the Whitechapel Gallery, can’t get any more local (universe) than there. Low and behold, one of my most favourite things is being exhibited! Video Gaming! but more specifically an installation, in the form of video, of how the gaming industry has developed gaming graphics through 30 years…PERFECT!

website link – Parallel

So to the drawing board to gather my thoughts and make headway with some designs. How can I visual communicate an exhibition for 30 years of gaming?

Once I had done some rough idea sketches and got some thoughts onto paper. I chose 3 different elements from my sketched idea that I liked most and thought captured the essence of the task; which was to communicate effectively and quickly. The elements I chose were: the title of the exhibition, the famous Pac-Man pie icon, and gaming controllers. Then I rearrange these elements into 5 different thumbnails.

sketches1080p

After discussing with Nick (nousvous) and fellow students, the best design for me to follow-up on was the second from the left.

This design was based on having a games controller from 30 years ago and one from the present, split down the middle by the title creating a visual representation of the title of the exhibit, almost creating a parallel time continuum having the controller morph from one to the other. The layout is striking, it covers the page, it gives the poster a direction for the viewer’s eye, and is easy to read.

I then set out to cut up the shapes using black paper, stuck onto tracing paper, to form a type of hand crafted Photoshop layers effect. This is to help establish a colour separation effect. when coming to choose a print process. Then scanned into the computer.

colourcutedit1 colourcutedit2 colourcutedit3

In Photoshop, I cleaned up the scans, edges, and shadows, some wobbles on the lettering, and began experimenting with different opacities and colour variations. changing the hue and saturation settings.

pp1 pp2 pp3

Leave a Reply

