JTR Script

I have sourced this fantastic script of a jack the ripper story, but more of an introduction to an even bigger story, however I feel this is a great script for what I want to illustrate. It has tone, atmosphere, attitude and feels very dark, in the sense that we get a glimpse inside Jack’s head.

Sourced from: https://www.scribd.com/doc/21893928/Jack-the-Ripper-Script

Jack the Ripper

Scene opens with a candle flickering in a dark room, the camera cuts closer and closer to the camera where it is eventually blown out by Jack, we hear a scream and Jack’s maniacal laughter, we hear the slashing of the blade on flesh and the screaming dies. We then hear Jack whisper…

 Jack:

I feel nothing!

We see Jack kneeling over the dead corpse of a prostitute; his hands are stained red with the blood the girl lays lifeless on the floor. Her eyes are open in terror. Jack is crying staring at her and at his hands in disbelief.

 Jack: *crying*

I told you to run, you should have run, why didn’t you listen

We hear muffled yells and shouts in the distance, Jack stands and runs. We see him run into the distance. The next scene cuts to the girl walking nervously through a grave yard, she looks terrified when Jack appears as if out of nowhere and startles her.

 Jack:

Hello my dear

Girl:

H-h-hello sir.

 Jack:

Tonight’s not the sort of evening to be out strolling, is it, girl?

Girl:

There is business that needs doing sir…

Jack:

I thought you looked, up for a good time. Well, come and say hello to Jack.

*changing*

No! No! Quick run girl! Run! I’m not to be trusted flee, flee while you can.

*changing*

No! I want you. I want your flesh! I want your blood! I want all of you, the inside and the out.

*changing*

No! Stay back! Stay back! *

He screams in pain and falls to his knees, his head bowed he breathes heavily*Girl:

S-s-sir, sir are you all right?

 Jack: *Look at her hungrily*

Come with me girl! And I will show you things, beyond your wildest dreams.

* He leaps up cat like and advances on her un-sheathing his knife

He following sequence is in total silence except for the narration, and the few muffled cries of the girl and shouts of Jack.

Narrator:

“For the lips of an immoral woman drip honey, and her mouth is smoother than oil; But in the end she is bitter as wormwood, Sharp as a two-edged sword. Her feet go down to death, her steps lay hold of hell” (Proverbs5:3-5 NKJV).

We see Jack cut the girls throat several times from different angles. We then seethe moment before the killing.

 Jack:

Tell the devil Jack sent you!

Cut to black.

Girl: *Screams*

In the darkness we hear a heartbeat, faster and faster. We then see a close up of Jack as he opens his eyes and gasps for air. We see a close up of his breathing fast.

 Jack:

Oh no! Oh God please no why! Why! She was just a young girl!

We see he is kneeling over the body of the girl. As he says this we hear Jack’s own voice as if inside his head, he reacts to this.

Voice 1:

She deserved to die!

Jack:

No! She was just a child no!

Voice 2:

She was a whore Jack, she needed purifying!

 Jack:

Thou shalt not kill!

Voice 3:

That’s true Jack, but she was already dead wasn’t she.

Voice 4:

She died as soon as she took on this vocation, she’s filth, tainted by the devil, evil, evil child!

 Jack:

No I’m evil! I did this!

Voice 1:

No Jack you’re her savior, you released her from Old Nicks grasp

Voice 2:

You did the Lords work and set her free!

Voice 3:

She was filthy but you cleansed her soul

 Jack:

No! Nooooo!

Voices: *over lapping each other*

Filthy, Filthy! (Repeated by Voice 3) Devils whore she deserved to die! (Repeated by voice 4) You did the lords work Jack, you saved her (Repeated by voice 2)

*Voice 1 laughs manically the whole time*

Over the top of the vocal collage Jack recites the Lord’s Prayer.

 Jack:

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory. Forever and ever. Amen

The voices hit a crescendo, before disappearing. Jack kneels over the girl panting a begins to sob.

Girl’s ghostly voice: *Sad and scared*

Help me… please help me.

The camera cuts to the girls face which is dead, pale and motionless. The voice is inside Jack’s head.

Girl’s ghostly voice:

Sir? Sir? Are you ok? Are you ok Sir?

 Jack: *Talking to the dead girl*

No, No I’m not, I’m ill… I’m sick. Sick with an incurable disease, a curse…It plagues my body… and my mind

Girl’s voice:

What is it Sir?

Long silence as Jack breathes slowly in and out.

 Jack:

There is a story, written by a man, a few years ago, in this story a Doctor drinks a potion and he becomes someone else, someone not very nice… That is just a story, but for me it’s a reality. Sometimes I can control that someone else and I am ok, others are ok. Sometimes I can’t control him and he gets angry when I try to subdue him. But somehow… no matter how hard I try… I submit to his will.

I feel excited to get analysing the script and to get illustrating!

 

 

Leave a Reply

