Branding Adam

Branding Identity secrets revealed, with up and coming Graphic Designer, Adam Hayes.

mock-up-paper-bag
  Woup Branding on PSD cover paper bag.

What attracts you most to brand? 
‘Noticing a brand by the slightest of images, or texts, which gives you the instance acknowledgment of the brand. Which can only be achieved by a thorough consistency throughout the brand.’ 

img_20811
    Adam working on making a branding book.

How would you go about finding an identity for a product that hasn’t already got one? 
‘I usually start researching for relevant Identities that are already out there. Am I creating a brand associated with nature? Then I will start to build a heavily natural image based mood board, and take influences from all different kinds of moods and aesthetics and pull what I think works the best together.’   

Sketches of branding identity.
   Sketches of branding identity.

Do you get involved with collaborations, or are you a lone rancher? 
‘I haven’t yet collaborated with another designer, but that doesn’t mean I prefer to work alone. Even though I haven’t collaborated on any finalised pieces, I would still consider the advice and ideas shared with my pears as a collaborative process.’

Trying out visual ideas.
        Trying out visual ideas.

How would you describe the personality of a brand, and how much of your personality do you put into a brand? 

‘A brand should have exactly that ‘personality’ and although there may be lots of similarities in the world each personality should be unique. A brand identity I have created, take Wonky Soup for example, I like to think I put a lot of myself into that kind of branding. I have always been very into nature, and creating a brand identity for a natural brand like Wonky Soup was very exciting, I felt like I could bring my two worlds together and really enjoy the designing process.’  

Process of creating a brand identity.
        Process of creating a brand identity.

Could you tell us some specifics about how you would go about refreshing a brand that has gone out of fashion? 
‘If by out of fashion, you mean, not as popular as it once was. Then I would start a process of rebranding, like I said earlier by creating mood boards. I would be looking at popular culture and drawing inspiration from brands that are very ‘in’ at the moment and build an understanding of why they’re popular. 

screen-shot-2016-05-10-at-8-52-03-pm
         Visualising the brand collectively.

 

Questions by James Notarianni

Answers and images by Adam Hayes – https://adamhayesblog.wordpress.com/

Blog article inspired by Grafik article post – https://www.grafik.net/category/case-study/future-head

Leave a Reply

