Publishing Internship

 

First Titan Advert I Created.
First Titan Advert I Created.

University has started and I am now a third year student. I will begin to start projects and dissertation writing very soon, but what have I been up to during the summer I hear you ask…

 

For me, my summer is not a break off of ‘work’. I try to use my time in the holidays to be as productive as I can be. It is a tough and dangerous industry out there, and it takes hard work and determination to get an established position for yourself. I took the opportunity of my time off to look for a way ‘in’.

I took to online job searching, and just starting sending out my CV and digital portfolio. Hoping something would come from it, I had clicked a lot of job positions. A few days later I got an email from Titan Publishing, they had offered me an interview for an internship within the marketing and advertising department. I accepted the invitation (of course) and got set and ready for my interview.

Inside Double Page Spread for Star Wars Rebels #7
Inside Double Page Spread for Star Wars Rebels

I had made sure I checked up on the company. Scanning every surface I could on finding out about them. Their current material, best published books, comics, magazines. I looked up everything I needed to know for my interview. I gathered some fresh pieces of work I’d produced, mostly publications. A good breakfast, a hair cut and some smart clothes later, I jumped on the train to London for my interview.

Warhammer Banners
Warhammer Banners

The interview was delightful, they were as passionate about print as I was, I showcased my publications and gave good confident answers to their questions. It felt comfortable, and just like having a chat, nothing to be worried about at all. My questions came fluently, I had enough information and research behind me to direct questions about current and fresh projects and goings on within the company.

Double Page Spread for Doctor Who Subscription Offer
Double Page Spread for Doctor Who Subscription Offer

They seemed impressed. I was overwhelmed. I got a phone call. I got the internship position!

My first day I got thrown into the deep end. It was real work, real-time, real people and real print. I had to get quickly familiar with their house style for adverts, web banner, Facebook banners, mobile banners, as well as other company such as DC Comics and Panini Publishing. I was in my element. I was being given adverts to design, arrange, make and update. From scratch or from the design team templates. I had been given some of my favourite comic books to work on, such titles as Batman and Superman. I was working on kids magazines such as Barbie and Monster High. I was being given magazine retail push adverts to create for Panini and even the BBC. Above all, I was happy, and the team were happy with my work. I was designing, making and getting things ready for print! what more could I have wanted!

Batman Comic Advert
Batman Comic Advert
Annual Book Advert
Annual Book Advert

I had met some challenges; I had recall everything I had been taught about typography, and its importance in advertising. Colour schemes and tones. Background art, from distracting colours to showcasing its best elements. My Adobe InDesign skills were heightened, my Photoshop abilities had to be quick, and everything had to be done with minimal error. However, there was still some elements of research behind what I was doing. I had to look through previous magazines, comics, books, adverts and styles in order to keep everything consistent but not the same. I had to use my design and creative instinct in order to achieve the best outcome. In the end all of this knowledge paid off. Once I had got something to show the designers, I would send it off for them to look over, which is why the research was so important. Once it had been looked over by the designers, it would then have to go through the editorial team. Any adjustments needed, it would come straight back to me and I would then adjust accordingly. Once these teams were happy, it would then be shown to the Publishing Director for approval. Then, off to the print it goes to be printed and shipped.

Back issue order advert
Back issue order advert

My time at Titan was quite simply one of the best. I have gained invaluable knowledge and have been shown what a real design working environment has in store for me. I do, however, want to be comic book illustrator, in one form or another, but for now this was exceptional, and it couldn’t have come at a better time as I move into the third year of studies.

Packshot digital advert
Packshot digital advert

I encourage internships and work placements. You will have the experience of a lifetime!

 

Creating a background for an advert
Creating a background for an advert

(all the images on this blog post are ‘some’ of what I created whilst at Titan, which have been printed and can been seen in stores)

Leave a Reply

