100 Things Southampton

Research Task

Before joining this studio, before voting even, it was asked upon, that if we were to join this studio, to collect 100 things related to Southampton. This was a mammoth task. Knowing very little, if anything, about Southampton, I knew this was going to be a quick gathering information process. I opted to look at the first things related to Southampton. Google is good for that. All famous aspects of the area, first impressions, well-known information, places and people. However, I did want a various range of research and sources. This made me split up my research and gathering into 4 sections. I came to a conclusion of having internet sources images, text based information, book covers and my own sketches.

 

My findings

The pictures are the result of my fast internet gathering. Ranging from places, historical pictures, memorable facts, buildings, vehicles, walls etc. (see captions for descriptions.)

Below are the books that I had come across.  I was mainly attracted by the titles and covers, being an illustrator I thought this was a good starting point. Some of the books are based on Southampton itself. Some are stories set within the city. Some are written by authors whom live in Southampton. Others are about the history of the City, and others about how Southampton coped and survived during the Great War. I even threw in there most well known book store, October Books.

My written text was information I sourced from looking at the blurbs of the books above. From internet sources such as Wikipedia, and Visit-Southampton. As this was a quick research and gathering task, I felt it appropriate to get easy resourceful information, I could then look into deeper in the future.

[place in text]

The fourth information gathering I had produced, was my own illustrative first impressions of Southampton. I looked through the information and research I had done, and made my own visual narrative/collage of what I liked most about the City of Southampton. Below are pictures of my development in creating my illustrative collage. I opted to use bright, strong, contrasting colours as this year I want to venture more into the use of colour and how it can make my work even stronger as a style.

Reflection

Fast research tasks are good as it gets the brain engaged, and the fingers moving. In this type of industry its essential to be able to find research, images and interpretations fast. To be able find research fast is a brilliant skill. I wanted to keep it varied and not just rely on google for half of it. Splitting it into sections helped me manage the task in ‘chunks’ and gave me a moment or two to think about what type of resource do I need to be looking at for various type of information. Just by doing this research fast, possible a couple of hours at most, I was about to get ideas for an illustrative collage, a colour palette for the watercolours, and a variety of visuals. Having all this information can also help me in the future. I now have a good range of sources to look at, and can go deeper into more research from taking bits out of this.

Leave a Reply

