Moving Image

Dissertation Class

For my dissertation class, Studio 24 ‘Words In Space’, we had a film session. For my dissertation I am proposing a question of whether the language and artwork in comic books are illustrative or a form of graphic design. Therefore, the films we watched were of great interest to me. Each film was about how we, as a viewer, could depict what was happening between the visuals and the spoken words (sounds). In the films, sometime the sounds related to the visuals perfectly and then didn’t. Some stories where linear, then non-linear. What I got from this session was about how we relate to words and images, whether films or books, as separate elements or joined in some form or another. This gave me a great idea for studio work.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/FfWjDnDg4-s&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen><!–iframe>

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/57hJn-nkKSA&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen><!–iframe>

Trying Something New

From these videos, it sparked an idea that, coincided with my tutorial feedback, which suggested I take a different media approach to the given studio texts. I took Ann Vickers zoo text and got someone to read it out for me as I recorded them. This then gave me some spoken word sound to work with. I liked the style of videos above, someone talking over moving image, this creates a great response between text/type and visual narrative. As my chosen text was of Ann speaking of her childhood memories, I considered the style of my video to be of ‘homemade footage’. As the Southampton Zoo was around in the 1960’s I considered that it was a time of black and white film, and badly recorded sound. These are all elements I considered within the rendering of my film.

Screen shot of me recording and editing sound recording through Adobe Audition
Screen shot of my recording and editing sound through Adobe Audition
Screen shot of my process making the video on Premiere pro.
Screen shot of my process making the video on Premiere pro.

 

To produce this video I had collected real images of the Southampton zoo and edited them alongside specific, and selected footage of zoo animals in cages and concrete environments. Took me a while, but I found some good ones. I also got selected footage to tell a narrative, somethings that Ann suggests in the text, for example, playing in the park, an advert of the fox’s mints. I have produced this video in a very linear sense, but have taken a video footage collage approach.

This is the result of this task/self initiated workshop. ( video below )

 

2 thoughts on “Moving Image

Leave a Reply

