Origami fail – plus Research

Taking my animal study a bit further. I needed to get away from the pencil. I was going to try and create a miniature zoo of origami animals. This has been proven to be extremely difficult. As I begun looking at how to make origami animals, I wanted to make some that were more 3D than 2D. I came across a couple of references to use. Behold, the World wildlife fund has already done a similar thing. They have given out instructions on how to make origami animals. This was some great inspiration and referencing.

2016-11-13

However, even with the correct paper, and some patience, my results weren’t looking good. Extremely complex, and time consuming, origami had me beat. However, I was determined to keep on this track. I went onto do some research and find out if any other artists had done a similar thing. I thought it might be good to get some other ideas.

 

I have come across a digital artist, who’s work I admired. Jeremy kool. Not only did I find that he made origami animals, but, he was doing this digitally. He is a CG artist, a working concept artist. I believe he uses cinema 4d to create this fantastic objects. At first sight I thought these were actual paper sculptures. This shows how the detail of such a process can be so effective. There are little paper creases in these animals and folds that look extremely realistic. He is mostly known for a his creation of Paper Fox. This is an interactive story in which the creatures, animals, and settings are all created out of paper. This is a very innovative approach to paper folding, and a very playful way of using materials outside of their original form.

untitled-3

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Origami fail – plus Research

  1. Origami is not easy but if you stick with it I think you will be happy with the results. You should start with easier models and work your way up. Good luck and I am happy to answer questions if you have them. I have been doing origami for years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

