Digital Lino Print

For some further development, I have taken a digital approach to the lino print workshop. I try and use photoshop, and other programmes alike, in more illustrative ways as I can. I used the absolute same technique as lino cutting but instead of the hand held carving tools, I would use the lasso on photoshop. And of course, instead of ink, I can select various types of brushes and overlay colours together. The main part about using photoshop and adobe packages, is the amazing use of layers and tools at that are at my instant disposal.

The steps I took at creating these layered prints are shown in the images below.

 

 

 

 

Using the lasso to cut out shapes from my initial drawing, then apply a Red fill.

Using the lasso to cut out shapes from my initial drawing, then apply a Red fill.

 

Using the lasso again to mark out what I want in blue ink, overlay that which turns the colour a purple, which is what would happen in actual print.

Using the lasso again to mark out what I want in blue ink, overlay that which turns the colour a purple, which is what would happen in actual print.
Lasso the parts that I want in Black ink, mostly details, bags and shoes, just to make the people pop out.
Lasso the parts that I want in Black ink, mostly details, bags and shoes, just to make the people pop out.
Then I use texture brushes to create a print effect, and put a textured paper image in the background to give it some authenticity, and body.
Then I use texture brushes to create a print effect, and put a textured paper image in the background to give it some authenticity, and body.

 

Once I had created this technique on one, I applied it to some more drawings I had done. What I am attempting to show in these illustrations, is not particularly the people, more the speed and motion. I have chosen to select a few items/objects with a different colour, giving them focus making the people seem like a blur. Once your eye is looking at the red, it is not looking at the people, but you know that it is people ‘zooming’ about. My derive was more focused on what people were carrying, holding or wearing than the actual people themselves.

 

Leave a Reply

