D&AD – Abstract Language

I am concentrating on the three phrases I have come up with:

  1. Don’t be afraid to fail
  2. Trust yourself
  3. Listen to your own language

 

After looking at Visual Language ideas for my D&AD New Blood brief, I have been looking into abstract art, and how I could turn abstract designs into something to say from all three phrases. looking at abstract art, I came across Rorschach ink blot test designs.

The Rorschach test is a psychological test in which subjects’ perceptions of inkblots are recorded and then analysed using psychological interpretation, complex algorithms, or both. Some psychologists use this test to examine a person’s personality characteristics and emotional functioning. It has been employed to detect underlying thought disorder, especially in cases where patients are reluctant to describe their thinking processes openly. The test is named after its creator, Swiss psychologist Hermann Rorschach. In the 1960s, the Rorschach was the most widely used projective test.

I began to gather images of the actual test used for patients.

Taking the idea of these Rorschach designs, I have now come up with a process to use this the ideas and make them my own.

First I drew scribbles with my eyes closed, allowing various other senses to guide the pencil/pen for me, therefore having to trust myself. Then scanned them in to pc.

lines

 

I then took drawing ink and water, with a brush, splattered ink onto some paper and allowed to dry before scanning. Not knowing how these would turn out, meant I was prepared to fail, but not being afraid to fail, just allowing things to happen.

ink4

 

As I was working on a brief for Adobe, it says in the brief to maybe see if we can use a package from the company, therefore I cropped and layered my scans in photoshop, preparing my lines and ink blots to be copied and flipped to create my own language.

2017-02-19

Once I had created this format of working, I was then able to make variations and multiple designs within a few hours. (below)

I am to create as many as I can in order to produce a body of work. But it was suggested to me in tutor tutorial to try some colour, to show vibrancy and life affirming images.

Leave a Reply

