D&AD – Colour Meaning

After a tutorial about the progression of my Design for D&AD Adobe brief, I was suggested to try adding colour. This design is working well, but it doesn’t scream life affirming and vibrancy. So, I looked into colour theory and the psychology of colour meanings.

Non-verbal Communication

Colour is a form of nonverbal communication. It is not a static energy and its meaning can change from one day to the next with any individual – it all depends on what energy they are expressing at that point in time. For example, a person may choose to wear red on a particular day and this may indicate any one or more of the psychological meanings of the colour red, including the following: this is their favourite colour, or it may be that they are ready to take action in some way, or they may be passionate about what they are going to be doing that day, or it may mean that they are feeling angry that day, on either a conscious or subconscious level. All are among the traits of the colour red.

 

I found a great website, Empowered by Colour which gave me some much needed information.

Turquoise is the colour of communication and clarity of mind.

Blue is the colour of trust and peace.

Yellow is the colour of the mind and the intellect. It is optimistic and cheerful.

Using these three colours I have adapted them to my wisdom art pieces.

I then wanted to see how they would look on display, so I made a mock up gallery.

This shows me a good idea of they would sit together. I think more investigation as to which order to put them in. However, I’m still unsure of the colours. Black and white is a very ‘safe’ base for making art look professional and simple, colour can really mix things up. I will look into different colour hues.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

